Karin Sander, Konstantin Haubrok, 1:7 (2010);  Karin Sander, Barbara & Axel Haubrok, 1:7 (2010)
Karin Sander Konstantin Haubrok, 1:7, 2010Karin Sander Barbara & Axel Haubrok, 1:7, 2010
Karin Sander, Konstantin Haubrok, 1:7 (2010); Karin Sander, Barbara & Axel Haubrok, 1:7 (2010)
Karin Sander
Konstantin Haubrok, 1:7, 2010

Karin Sander
Barbara & Axel Haubrok, 1:7, 2010

The starting point for our collection was a work by Raoul de Keyser, purchased in 1988. During the first few years, our focus of interest was primarily on painting, while, in the following, we started to concentrate more and more on conceptual art, especially by artists of the first and second generations. This is why, besides painterly and photographic positions, installations, objects, and performances, ephemere positions, too, play an important role in our collections — especially those evolving around the conceptual approaches of exhibition making originating from the 1960s and 70s.

Over the past 20 years, we regularly showed works from our collection at exhibitions in diverse locations. A first survey exhibition was held at the Abteiberg Museum in Mönchengladbach in 2002. Since 2005, more than sixty exhibitions have been shown in Berlin, the first ones in an apartment on Xantener Straße, then in our spaces on Strausberger Platz, and now, for exactly 10 years, at FAHRBEREITSCHAFT.

In addition, we were invited to present our collection, lastly at Hamburger Bahnhof, on the occasion of its 25th anniversary in 2021, before that, in 2019/2020, at the Neues Museum Nuremberg, in 2015 at the Fondation Hippocrène in Paris, and in 2013 at the Deichtorhallen Hamburg. In Berlin, we opened the festival Tanz im August (Dance in August) with an exhibition on the revolving stage of the HAU Hebbel am Ufer theater. At Paris Bar, we exhibited works from the collection, while we simultaneously showed works that otherwise hung there at Strausberger Platz. Furthermore, we organized two artist film festivals, at Kino International and Arsenal Cinema on Potsdamer Platz, both as a kickoff to Berlin Art Week.

Today, our collection includes positions by:
Edgar Arceneaux
Carol Bove
Martin Boyce
Stanley Brouwn
Christoph Büchel
Tom Burr
Martin Creed
Willem de Rooij
Sara Dearedt
Olafur Eliasson
Elmgreen & Dragset
Cerith Wyn Evans
Hans-Peter Feldmann
Morgan Fisher
Günther Förg
Félix Gonzales-Torres
Rodney Graham
Wade Guyton
Georg Herold
Judith Hopf
Emily Jacir
Imi Knoebel
Carolyn Lazard
David Lieske
Park McArthur
Rodney McMillian
Jonathan Monk
Bruce Nauman
Roman Opalka
Joyce Pensato
Peter Piller
Matthias Poledna
Stephen Prina
Florian Pumhösl
Klaus Rinke
Karin Sander
Gregor Schneider
Andreas Slominski
Simon Starling
Wolfgang Tillmans
Jan Timme
Franz West
Christopher Williams
Ian Wilson
Haegue Yang
Heimo Zobernig